Ford F-150 The entry level full size truck from Ford, one of America's best selling for decades.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'87 4.9L Wont start - Whats this noise?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2018, 09:17 PM
Question '87 4.9L Wont start - Whats this noise?

Hi Guys,

I just refurbished this '87 F150 custom 4.9L.

I didnt touche the engine itself much, just replaced the PCV and EGR Valve, and Exhaust Manifolds.
I Replaced an old Rotted Cable going from the battery directly to the starter (Seen in RED in this video).

I replaced the in-line Fuel Pump situated just under the driver seat held in the Frame.

I turn the key to the "On", and instantly I get a moderatly loud "werrring" sound (hear it twice in the video)
If I just leave the ignition to "on" that werring comes back every 5-10 seconds.

If I move from "on" to ignition, nothing happens. no noise, no click, nothing.
This is my first time working on a truck...

I also have a OBS1 Scanner, I plugged it in, turned it on, pressed the "TEST/HOLD" button but it just stays on 0.00
Again, first timer here so I dont even know if I am doing that right. But the instructions were simply, leave truck off, plug in, turn tester on, hold test button.

I filmed my first attempt to start the truck. Please take a minute to check it out...
I can upload more videos of anything you guys want me to check.

I could really use some guidance.

Regards,

Denis

Old 04-20-2018, 07:17 AM

Hi Denis,

I don't know just how you have everything hooked up , but what if we started at the beginning?

First the negative post of the battery should be connected to the starter mounting or a solid connection on the engine block.
The positive cable from the positive post of the battery gets connected to one of the large terminals on the starter relay that is bolted to the passenger side fender well.