Ford F-150 The entry level full size truck from Ford, one of America's best selling for decades.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Economy fuel rail pressure sensor

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2017, 10:21 PM
Default Economy fuel rail pressure sensor

Hello,
I'm new to this forum but have always lurked and researched previous posts. I have found this site to be very informative and it has provided me with many great directions.
I feel I should contribute my trials as it could help someone with a similar situation.
First and foremost, I am NOT a certified mechanic but a weekend and off hours wrencher. I do try to save money where possible. All the work on the vehicles, I attempt to complete myself. I have spent many hours with research but I know that is just the tip of the iceberg. The vehicles I have worked on is 2001 Ford Focus, 1999 Ford Expedition, 2000 Ford Explorer, 2003 Ford Escape, and 2005 Ford F150.
Now my story... My 2005 F150 stalled on me at a Walmart parking lot. Had crank but No start. Towed it back home. Put the fuel pressure gauge on and it read 0 psi. I assumed it was my fuel pump. I replaced the pump and again tried to read pressure. Still a 0 psi. I then assumed my injectors had a leak. I began to dissassemble my my fuel rail and this is where I found the discrepancy. I disconnected the Fuel Rail Pressure Temperature Sensor and found fuel in the vacuum line. I then opened the throttle body and looked down the plenum, I wrapped a rag around a stick and inserted it through the throttle body. I then withdrawed the rag and noticed a fuel soaked rag about 3 inches deep. (My numerous attempts to start the vehicle)
Now about 2 weeks prior I installed a new part,...the Fuel Rail Temperature Pressure Sensor. This is where me trying to save money actually incurred more unexpected expenses and unexpected work. I purchased this part from the internet for about 35.00 and OEM on the Net sells for about 115.00.
"Trying to be frugal is not always optimal."